Monday The Magnificent

monday

I haven’t been anti-Monday for a few years now. And it feels great. Gone is the dread on Sunday night. I don’t worry unnecessarily on how the coming week would turn out. Not that I stopped caring, I just become more accepting of the fact that work starts on a Monday. At the risk of sounding pretentious, I actually get a high on Mondays. And yes, all because of those kind of cliches in the self-help genre, namely, new start, new things, new tasks.

So before I alienate you all from my blog, let me shift gears and talk about the weekend instead. I hope yours was as good as mine or even better. I was pretty pleased with my weekend because I got to accomplish a lot on my to-do list. I got a few ones unfinished but then I’m not perfect. First off, groceries done. My brother and I would survive the next 2 weeks, hopefully, with our stock. Next is the laundry, of which 90% was taken care of my brother. Hey, he’s temporarily unemployed, ergo, he has to do 98% of the household chores. Says who? Says me, that is. Then, my bedroom is clean and organized again. Fresh sheets, cosmetics in their proper places, clothes neatly stacked and hanged in the closet. TV and DVD player surfaced dusted. Still wonder how and where it got so much dust. And did I mention fresh sheets? One of the best things in life, right? Also, Skyped with my cousin, Ves. He’s in Canada and is my favorite cousin. Skyping with him is a major feat. Hello, video call! Then there was the Chinese New Year’s party we celebrated midnight of the 10th. We had pizza, wine and lava cake. Hail, S&R for our food.

Now we come to the weekend’s highlight, which is one of my passion and yet also happens to be one of my fears, writing. I started blogging last year but stopped after a few entries. I just couldn’t do it. I came up with a hundred and one crappy excuses not to do it. Shoved it at the back of my mind and drown the thought before it could resurface. But I’ve recently resolved that I want to do this again, and more importantly, I want to do this every chance I could get. Anyway, my passion for writing and the lack of it sometimes is a topic reserved for a different entry or entries.

In the meantime, I’ll be working and ticking out my to-do list today while Monday, the magnificent bast**ard, hovers over my shoulder before heading off to a corner to sit and mind his own business.

Have a great week, mates!

PS. Would love to hear about your weekend, too. I’m sure mine’s pretty plain and vanilla compared to some of you. Not that I’m complaining. 🙂

Photo courtesy of http://www.cosplay.ph/gallery/index.php/Cosplay-Snapshots-Project/2010/Miku-Hatsune-jump-high

Feel free to share what you think about the post. I promise I won't bite or shoot.

